Bio and Thoughts About Social Justice

craigMy Name is Craig Perkin. I am thirty-five years old and I live in North Langley with my wife of nearly ten years and our big dog Buddy. I work full time at a limestone plant which is right on the mighty Fraser River.

I have been out of school for ten years now. My education includes a diploma in Christian studies from Christ College and one semester at Kwantlen in 2003. After I got married in 2004 I decided to work full time and help my wife go to school. My plan is to work towards a double minor in Sociology and Counselling. I am slowly easing my way back in to it.

As I was processing my thoughts on social justice it occurred to me that all justice is social justice. Societies do justice. That said, there are certainly very different ideas about what is and is not just depending on the ideals and philosophical undercurrents of a given society. I am curious about how this course will approach different cultural perceptions of justice.

My personal belief is that justice is humanity flourishing in the fullest way possible. I think usually Social Justice refers to efforts to aid marginalized, oppressed and underprivileged people. In my view these are some of the most important aspects. I am also interested the idea of corporate responsibility. I agree with the trend that sees corporations being called to account for their treatment of employees, communities and the environment.

Another thought I had was about international/ethnic issues. What I am thinking about are the effects of national and ideological imperialism. Is it just that some countries are able to exploit citizens of other countries. Also colonization has left many countries war torn with violence and ethnic tension. I don’t have much in the way of answers for this one and I may be barking up the wrong tree to think it has to do with social justice…what do you think?

Leave a comment